Spring 2021 Magazine Web Banner


Psychology Professor Earns National Teaching Award

The Society for the Teaching of Psychology, a division of the American Psychological Association, gave its highest national award to Dr. Guy Boysen at its virtual Annual Conference on Teaching in October. Criteria for the Robert S. Daniel Teaching Excellence Award are effective teaching; mentoring student professional development; advancing teaching and learning through scholarship and service; and training teachers of psychology.

Guy mentors senior thesis and honors thesis students, designing his research with opportunities for their involvement. Students have collaborated with him to create or analyze surveys or co-author research publications and professional presentations on subjects including trigger warnings and mental illness stigma.

Read more at Society for the Teaching of Psychology Recognizes Boysen for Excellence.



Debate Team


Debate & Speech Team Nationals

Mitch Deleel '21 and junior Kyle Garrett made school history by advancing to the final round of the National Parliamentary Tournament of Excellence (NPTE) for the first time ever.


Read more at McKendree University Debaters Take Second at National Parliamentary Tournament of Excellence.



MLK Awards


MLK Awards

Seniors Shelby Benn and Gigi Hopkins were presented with the 2021 MLK Humanitarian Award.  Dr. Pamela Manning and Dr. Martha Patterson received the 2021 McKendree University MLK Humanitarian Award winners. Dr. Patterson dedicated her award to Dr. J.L. Simmons ’88 for her commitment to diversity and inclusion, her service to the university and region, and her devotion as a mentor to young people.

Read more at MLK Humanitarian Awards Honor Student Leaders, Faculty Mentors.




Emerson Award

Dr. Darryn Diuguid, professor of education, received a 2020 Emerson Excellence in Teaching Award.

Watch his commencement address.

Read more at McKendree Education Professor Receives Excellence in Teaching Award.



Staff Awardees


President’s Staff Awards

Praising their leadership, dedication and accomplishments, President Daniel Dobbins announced Assistant Dean and Registrar Debbie Larson and Director of Public Safety Ranodore "Ran" Foggs as the 2021 recipients of the President’s Award for Professional Excellence.


Read more at Two McKendree Staff Members Commended for Professional Excellence.




Associate Faculty

The Associate Faculty Awards for Excellence in Teaching honor the commitment, academic excellence, outstanding teaching and engagement of two part-time associate professors. This year’s honorees are Heather Schoenherr ’96, an undergraduate communication instructor for 22 years; and Joan Winkelmann, an instructor in the MBA program for 12 years.

Read more at Recognition for Associate Part-Time Faculty in Communication, Business.