Faculty and Staff


Music Department Faculty

 

Photo of Nancy YpmaDr. Nancy S. Ypma

Professor of Music
Chair, Division of Visual and Performing Arts
Hettenhausen Center for the Arts 1112
(618) 537-6922
nypma@mckendree.edu

 

 

 

 

Photo of John McDonald, D.M.A.Dr. John McDonald

Assistant Professor of Music Education
Hettenhausen Center for the Arts 1110
(618) 537-6554
jtmcdonald@mckendree.edu

 

 

 

 

Photo of Jennifer ModerDr. Jennifer A. Moder

Assistant Professor of Music Education
Director of Concert Band and Wind Ensemble
Hettenhausen Center for the Arts 1090
(618) 537-6428
jamoder@mckendree.edu

 

 

 

 

Instrumental Faculty


Brass:

 

Mary WeberMary Weber

Trumpet
meweber@mckendree.edu

M.M., Syracuse University

B. M., University of Miami (FL)

St. Louis Symphony, First Call Replacement

 

 

 

 

 

Cara Kizer

Horn
clkizer@mckendree.edu

Artist Diploma, The Curtis Institute of Music

M.M., The Juilliard School

B.M., Texas Tech University

Seattle Symphony Orchestra, Second Horn

 

Amanda StewartAmanda Stewart

Trombone
akstewart@mckendree.edu

B.M. The Juilliard School

St. Louis Symphony, Associate Principal Trombone

 

 

  

 

Photo of Matthew Kuebler

Matthew Kuebler

Tuba & Euphonium
Director: Low Brass Ensemble
mjkuebler@mckendree.edu

D.M.A. (in progress), University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music

M.M., Indiana University

B.M., University of Kentucky

United States Air Force Band of Mid-America

 

Jazz:


Dustin Shrum

Director: Jazz Ensemble
Director: Jazz Combos
dashrum@mckendree.edu

M.M., University of Missouri - Kansas City, Conservatory of Music and Dance

B.M.E., University of Missouri - St. Louis

 

Keyboard:

 

Photo of Joseph WelchDr. Joseph Welch

Piano
jdwelch@mckendree.edu

D.M.A., University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

M.M., University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

B.M., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

 

 

 

Melissa Ray

Piano
Instrumental Accompanist
Accompanist: Concert Choir/Chamber Choir
maray@mckendree.edu

M.M., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

B.M., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville 

 

Dr. Nancy S. Ypma

Organ
Piano
Harpsichord
Director: Concert Choir/Chamber Choir
nypma@mckendree.edu

D. Mus., Northwestern University

M. Mus., Northwestern University

B.A., University of California Los Angeles

 

Brett Klaus

Vocal Coach/Accompanist

Professional Certificate, Manhattan School of Music

M.M., Boston Conservatory

B.M., University of Missouri - Columbia


Percussion:


Michael Correa

Percussion
Director: Percussion Ensemble

D.M.A. (in progress), University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music

M.M., University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music

B.M.E., Ithaca College School of Music

United States Air Force Band of Mid-America

 

Strings:

 

Alberto Beto

Guitar

M.M., University of Idaho

B.M., La Colmena School of Music, Argentina


Guy Cantonwine

Bass
gpcantonwine@mckendree.edu
M.M., Webster University

B.M., Webster University

 

Yuko Fisher

Violin
Viola
Cello
yfisher@mckendree.edu

Diploma, Kunstlerische Ausbildung of Staatliche Hochschule Fur Musik Heidelberg-Mannheim, Germany

Diploma, The Juilliard School

B.M. Tokyo University of Fine Arts and Music

 

Dr. Nathan Mandel

Music Appreciation On-Line Course
namandel@mckendree.edu

D.M.A., University of Illinois Champaign-Urbana

M.M., Bowling Green State University

B.M., University of North Texas

 

Voice:


Photo of Debra Harres
Debra Harres

Soprano
Coordinator for Vocal Studies
dhharres@mckendree.edu

M.M., University of Illinois Champaign-Urbana

B.M., Converse College

 

 

 

 

 


Woodwind:

 

Laura DwyerLaura Dwyer

Flute
Director: Flute Ensemble

M.M., DePaul University

B.M., University of North Texas

 

 

 

 

Dawn Striker-RobertsDawn Striker-Roberts

Oboe
dmstriker-roberts@mckendree.edu

M.M., San Diego State University

B.M.E., Tennessee Technological University

 

 

 

 

Photo of Mary Ann JordanMary Nan Jordan

Clarinet
Director: Clarinet Choir
mnjordan@mckendree.edu

M.M., Southern Methodist University

B.M., The Juilliard School

United States Air Force Band of Mid-America

 

 

Photo of Robert JordanDr. Robert Jordan

Bassoon
Theory and Aural Skills
Director: Woodwind Ensemble
rdjordan@mckendree.edu

D.M.A., The Ohio State University

Performance Certificate, University of Wisconsin- Milwaukee

M.M., University of Michigan

B.M., Louisiana State University

 

Photo of Ryan JanusRyan Janus

Saxophone
Director: Saxophone Ensemble
rgjanus@mckendree.edu

M.M., University of South Florida

B.M., Hope College

United States Air Force Band of Mid-America