Student Performances


The Division of Visual and Performing Arts


The Hett provides McKendree University students a state-of-the-art performance venue in which to nurture and display their many talents. The University offers majors in music, music education, music marketing, art, art education, theatre and musical theatre, with minors in art, fine art, art history, dance, music and theatre. Students benefit from small class sizes, one-on-one guidance, experienced faculty, master classes, scholarship opportunities, and unique internships.

 

Music


Music majors develop their skills as they prepare for careers in music performance, education, church music, theatre or other opportunities in the arts. Students of all disciplines are welcome to take music classes and participate in various ensembles.

Dr. Nancy Ypma, Professor of Music; Chair, Division of Visual and Performing Arts

Dr. Jennifer Moder, Assistant Professor of Music Education; Director of the Concert Band and Wind Ensemble

Dr. John McDonald, Assistant Professor of Music Education, Director of the Concert Choir

 

Theatre


See amazing, innovative shows staged by student actors, designers, and technicians! From entertaining comedies to thought-provoking dramas, from classics to original works, students demonstrate their skills in acting, set construction, sound, and lighting design.

Michelle Magnussen, Associate Professor of Theatre

 

Art


Students express their creativity through ceramics, drawing, graphic design, painting, digital media, photography, printmaking and sculpture. The McKendree University Gallery of Art, at 224 St. Louis St. in downtown Lebanon, displays original works by students, faculty members, and visiting artists. Exhibits and receptions are free and open to the public.

Amy MacLennan, Associate Professor of Art; Director, McKendree University Gallery of Art

Kevin Kao, Assistant Professor of Art

 

Performance Groups


Chamber Choir

Chamber Ensembles for Woodwind and Brass

Concert Band

Concert Choir

Dance Ensemble

Jazz Ensembles and Jazz Combo

Percussion Ensembles

Vocal Jazz Ensemble

Wind Ensemble

 

Show Choir


Vocals, choreography, staging, costuming and production combine for an entertaining, energetic performance of songs in a variety of genres, from pop to gospel to Broadway.

Dr. John McDonald, Assistant Professor of Music Education, Director of the Concert Choir

 

Marching Bearcat Band


The band performs at all home football games, hosts the annual Preview of Champions Marching Band Competition, and sponsors Drum Corps International’s “DCI St. Louis” show.

David Boggs, Director of Athletic Bands

 

McKendree University Series


Student and faculty performances present the best of McKendree University talent! Admission is free (no ticket required) unless otherwise noted. Dates and times are subject to change.


Potpourri Concert

Thursday, October 4, 2018, 7:30 PM

Faculty Recital

Tuesday, October 9, 2018, 7:30 PM

“Legally Blonde: The Musical,” by the Theatre and Music Departments and Show Choir

Thursday, November 8 to Saturday, November 10, 2018, 7:30 PM

Sunday, November 11, 2018, 2:00 PM

Concert Band Concert

Monday, November 19, 2018, 7:30 PM

Marching Bearcat Band Concert

Friday, November 16, 2018, 7:30 PM

Dance Recital

Wednesday, November 28, 2018, 7:30 PM

Chamber Ensemble Concert

Thursday, November 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Show Choir Christmas Spectacular

Saturday, December 1, 2018, 7:30 PM

Jazz Ensemble Concert

Monday, December 3, 2018, 7:30 PM

A McKendree Christmas!

Featuring the Concert Band, Concert Choir, Chamber Choir, Jazz and Wind Ensembles, Dance Ensemble, and a student art exhibit. 

Friday, December 7, 2018, 7:30 PM

Theatre Department Play: “Dead Man’s Cell Phone”

Thursday, April 4 to Saturday, April 6, 2019, 7:30 PM

Sunday, April 7, 2019, 2:00 PM

Dance Recital

Thursday, April 25, 2019, 7:30 PM

Choral Concert

Friday, April 26, 2019, 7:30 PM

Jazz Ensemble Concert

Monday, April 29, 2019, 5:00 PM

Chamber Ensemble Concert

Tuesday, April 30, 2019, 7:30 PM

Concert Band Concert

Friday, May 3, 2019, 7:30 PM

Show Choir Finale: “This Is Me”

Saturday, May 4 and Sunday, May 5, 2019, 7:30 PM