Conference Honors

GLVC James R. Spalding Sportsmanship Awards

The men’s swimming and diving program received the GLVC James R. Spalding Sportsmanship Team Award. They were also named to the DII College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Scholar All-America team standings for the Spring semester, with the women’s team finishing seventh with an overall GPA of 3.65.

Ben Muller ’18 and senior Adrian Brown were named the GLVC James R. Spalding Sportsmanship Award recipients in men’s tennis and women’s golf. Ben tied for the men’s tennis team lead in victories during singles play this year, going 10-6 for the Bearcats. He also paired with Maico Egbers ’18 to post a 12-7 mark in doubles competition, which led the team in victories. Adrian led the women’s golf team in scoring throughout the 2017-18 campaign. She averaged 80.9 strokes per 18 holes this season. She also won two fall tournaments for the Bearcats.

Miranda GajewskiGLVC Softball Freshman of the Year

First-year Miranda Gajewski went 21-7 during the season and led all GLVC qualified pitchers with a 1.98 earned-run average. She tossed a team-leading 16 complete games and two shutouts while striking out 111 batters on the year. At the plate, she was fourth on the team with a .348 batting average. She was also named the Hero Sports Network D2 Newcomer of the Year.

DeMontez McCray
GLVC Indoor and Outdoor Track Athlete of the Year

For the third straight year, junior DeMontez McCray earned All-American accolades at both the NCAA DII Indoor & Outdoor Track and Field Championships in the 200m with fourth place and seventh place finishes respectively. In the GLVC, he has dominated the 100m and 200m, winning the conference races all three years.

Darren Wynn ’17GLVC Wrestler of the Year

Graduate student Darren Wynn ’17 won the NCAA Super Regional crown at 141 lbs. and finished as runner-up at Nationals. He completed his career with a 149-33 record and is the Bearcats’ first four-time NCAA DII All-American taking seventh, first, second, and second respectively.

Sarah Wille ’18MIAA Bowler of the Year

Sarah Wille ’18 led the squad in traditional average during the regular season with 211.69. She collected seven top-20 finishes and authored the Bearcats’ lone 300 game of the season at the Warhawk Invitational in November 2017. She also made Team USA in January.

Ryan Strope ’17GLVC Wrestling Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Graduate student Ryan Strope ’17 was named the 2017-18 GLVC Wrestling Scholar-Athlete of the Year. In the classroom, Ryan posted a cumulative 3.475 GPA while majoring in business. On the mat, he posted a season record of 40-12 on his way to a seventh place finish at 157 lbs. and All-America honors at the NCAA DII Championships.

Dana DiPasquale ’18GLIAC Attacker of the Year and Commissioner’s Award

Recipient Dana DiPasquale ’18 was named the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Lacrosse Attacker of the Year for her efforts on the field and the GLIAC Commissioner’s Award recipient for her efforts in the classroom. The first-team Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association All-Midwest Region honoree, Dana wrapped up her four-year playing career as the Bearcats’ all-time scoring leader with 298 points and career assist leader with 151. An elementary education major, she posted a cumulative 3.961 GPA in the classroom.