Faculty and Staff


Music Department Faculty

 

Photo of Nancy YpmaDr. Nancy S. Ypma

Professor of Music
Chair, Division of Visual and Performing Arts
Hettenhausen Center for the Arts 1112
(618) 537-6922
nypma@mckendree.edu

 

 

 

 

Photo of John McDonald, D.M.A.Dr. John McDonald

Assistant Professor of Music Education
Hettenhausen Center for the Arts 1110
Director of Chamber Choir and Concert Choir
(618) 537-6554
jtmcdonald@mckendree.edu

 

 

 

 

Photo of Jennifer Moder-BellDr. Jennifer A. Moder-Bell

Associate Professor of Music Education
Director of Concert Band and Wind Ensemble
Hettenhausen Center for the Arts 1092
(618) 537-6428
jamoder-bell@mckendree.edu

 

 

 

 

Instrumental Faculty


Brass:

 

Mary WeberMary Weber

Trumpet
meweber@mckendree.edu

M.M., Syracuse University

B. M., University of Miami (FL)

St. Louis Symphony, First Call Replacement

 

 

 

 

 

Cara Kizer

Horn
clkizer@mckendree.edu

Artist Diploma, The Curtis Institute of Music

M.M., The Juilliard School

B.M., Texas Tech University

Seattle Symphony Orchestra, Second Horn

 

Amanda StewartAmanda Stewart

Trombone
akstewart@mckendree.edu

B.M. The Juilliard School

St. Louis Symphony, Associate Principal Trombone

 

 

  

 

Photo of Matthew Kuebler

Matthew Kuebler

Tuba & Euphonium
Director: Low Brass Ensemble
mjkuebler@mckendree.edu

D.M.A. (in progress), University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music

M.M., Indiana University

B.M., University of Kentucky

United States Air Force Band of Mid-America

 

Jazz:

Michael Pond-Jones
Michael Pond-Jones

Director: Jazz Ensemble
Director: Jazz Combos
mrpond-jones@mckendree.edu

 

 

 

 

Keyboard:

 

Photo of Nancy YpmaDr. Nancy S. Ypma

Professor of Music
Organ
Piano
Harpsichord
Hettenhausen Center for the Arts 1112
(618) 537-6922
nypma@mckendree.edu

 

 

 

Melissa Ray

Piano
Instrumental Accompanist
Accompanist: Concert Choir/Chamber Choir
maray@mckendree.edu

M.M., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

B.M., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville 

  

Jessica Anderson

Vocal Coach/Accompanist

jranderson@mckendree.edu

M.M., Chicago College of Performing Arts at Roosevelt University

B.M., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville


Percussion:

Andre Sonner
Andre Sonner
Percussion
Director: Percussion Ensemble
ansonner@mckendree.edu

Graduate Performance Diploma, New England Conservatory

M.M., New England Conservatory

B.M., Central Michigan University

 

 

 

Strings:

 

Jason Weaver

Guitar

jcweaver@mckendree.edu

M.M., Northwestern University

B.M., Southeast Missouri State University

 


Guy Cantonwine

Bass
gpcantonwine@mckendree.edu
M.M., Webster University

B.M., Webster University

  

Dr. Nathan Mandel

Music Appreciation On-Line Course
namandel@mckendree.edu

D.M.A., University of Illinois Champaign-Urbana

M.M., Bowling Green State University

B.M., University of North Texas

 

Voice:


Photo of Amy Prince
Amy Prince

Soprano
Coordinator for Vocal Studies
aewprince@mckendree.edu

D.M., Indiana University (in progress)

M.M., The University of Western Ontario

B.M., The University of Waterloo

 

 


Woodwind:

 

Laura DwyerLaura Dwyer

Flute
Director: Flute Ensemble

lldwyer@mckendree.edu

M.M., DePaul University

B.M., University of North Texas

 

 

 

 

Dawn Striker-RobertsDawn Striker

Oboe
dmstriker-roberts@mckendree.edu

M.M., San Diego State University

B.M.E., Tennessee Technological University

 

 

 

 

Photo of Mary Ann JordanMary Nan Jordan

Clarinet
Director: Clarinet Choir
mnjordan@mckendree.edu

M.M., Southern Methodist University

B.M., The Juilliard School

United States Air Force Band of Mid-America

 

 

Photo of Robert JordanDr. Robert Jordan

Bassoon
Director: Woodwind Ensemble
rdjordan@mckendree.edu

D.M.A., The Ohio State University

Performance Certificate, University of Wisconsin- Milwaukee

M.M., University of Michigan

B.M., Louisiana State University

 

Nicholas Pyles

Saxophone
Music Theory
Director: Saxophone Ensemble

njpyles@mckendree.edu

M.M., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

B.M., Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

 

 

For information regarding Athletic Bands, please contact Dr. John Franklin