Phi Eta Sigma at McKendree Earns Chapter Excellence Recognition

(LEBANON, Ill., October 28, 2016) — Phi Eta Sigma national honor society for first-year college students recognizes and rewards chapters that demonstrate characteristics of strength, stability and long-standing tradition by presenting its annual Society’s Pyramid and Capstone Awards. McKendree University’s chapter, chartered in 2014, has earned both honors.

Chapters are selected for Pyramid status by meeting specified requirements for consistency in new member inductions, appropriate communication with the national office, proper reporting of activities, and participation in the national scholarship program. From this group, Capstone Award winners must meet all Pyramid requirements plus additional criteria, including service or leadership events or projects and participation at the national level. Capstone Award chapters for the 2015-16 academic year are McKendree University, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis and Mercer University.

In addition to these three elite chapters, others who earned Pyramid status for 2015-16 are Gannon University, Kennesaw State University, Louisiana State University, North Dakota State University, University of Puget Sound, Purdue University, Salisbury University, University of South Florida, University of Utah, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay and University of Wisconsin-Whitewater.

Founded in 1923 at the University of Illinois, Phi Eta Sigma is the nation's oldest and largest honor society for first-year students in all disciplines. Its mission is to encourage and reward academic excellence among freshmen in institutions of higher learning. Dr. Ann Collins and Jennifer Miller advise the McKendree University chapter. Student officers for 2016-2017 are Himani Patel, president; Ciara Janas, vice president; Robert Watkins, secretary; Marcus Taylor, public relations; Max Aviles, service chair; and Ciara Jones, senior advisor.