Group Photo of Phi Eta Sigma Inductees

Phi Eta Sigma Honor Society

"...the society's mission is to encourage and reward academic excellence among freshmen in institutions of higher learning."

Founded in 1923 at the University of Illinois, Phi Eta Sigma is the nation's oldest and largest honor society for first-year college and university students in all disciplines.

"Knowledge is power."

History of Phi Eta Sigma at McKendree University

The 378th chapter of Phi Eta Sigma was chartered at McKendree University on April 24, 2014. Chapter adviser Jennifer Miller, Ed.S. gave opening remarks for the ceremony held in Bothwell Chapel. Dr. Joni Bastian, vice president for student affairs, introduced Executive Director Elaine J. Powell, who then presented the new chapter's charter to Dr. Bastian. During her remarks, Mrs. Powell presented chapter adviser Dr. Ann Collins with a copy of her membership record and a reprint of her Phi Eta Sigma membership certificate showing Dr. Collins' induction into the Southwest Texas State University (now Texas State University) chapter in 1986.

Charter officers Stephanie Lake, McKenna Scaturro, Adam Strubhart, Halle Devoe, and Colin Rothzen performed the induction of the charter members. Ten members of the University's faculty and administration were recognized as honorary members. Following closing remarks from Dr. Collins, the new inductees attended a joint reception with members of Phi Kappa Phi at the Hettenhausen Center for the Arts. An impressive 222 students became charter members of the McKendree University chapter of Phi Eta Sigma.

National Website -