Phi Kappa Phi Receives Chapter of Merit Award


The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi recently recognized the campus chapter at McKendree University as a Chapter of Merit. The award is given to chapters that excel in recognizing and promoting academic excellence in all fields of higher education and engaging students in service to others.

The distinction acknowledges McKendree University’s chapter as a thriving organization that meets frequently, holds annual initiations and applies frequently for Phi Kappa Phi’s select scholarships, grants and fellowships.

“Behind every Chapter of Merit is a committed group of officers who give generously of their time and talent to recognize outstanding students,” said Lourdes Barro, the society’s acting executive director. “Officers of award-winning chapters make it possible for students to benefit from Phi Kappa Phi’s award programs and leadership opportunities.”

McKendree’s Chapter 292 officers for 2011-12 areDr. Ann Collins, president; Dr. Nichole DeWall, president elect; Dr. Bethany Hill-Anderson, public relations officer; and student vice presidents Melinda Bayer and Melissa Bayer, of Collinsville, and Erin Connolly, of Belleville. Eighty-one new members were installed at the chapter’s eighth initiation ceremony in April.

Founded in 1897, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest, and most selective all-discipline honor society. Individual membership is by invitation and requires nomination and chapter approval. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors, having at least 72 semester hours, are eligible. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as well as faculty, professional staff, board members and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.