McKendree Professor Receives State Math Teaching Honor

(LEBANON, Ill., October 29, 2015) - The Illinois Council of Teachers of Mathematics (ICTM) honored Assistant Professor of Education, Emeritus, Martha Eggers of McKendree University with the Max Beberman Award for Leadership and Excellence in Mathematics Teacher Education. Presented at the ICTM conference Oct. 23-24, it recognizes one outstanding person each year who has contributed significantly to the field of mathematics education through research, curriculum design or teacher training. Eggers, who has taught at McKendree since 1984, retired in 2012 but continues to teach math education classes part-time.

The former ICTM board member said she was humbled to receive the award named for the late Max Beberman, an internationally renowned math educator who founded and developed theUniversity of Illinois Committee on School Mathematics curriculum. This “new math” significantly altered the way the subject was taught in the late 1950s and 60s. Eggers studied that curriculum and later implemented it in various middle and high schools where she taught.

She was nominated by Dr. Kelly Remijan, a math teacher at O’Fallon Township High School and a former McKendree associate faculty member. Letters of support were written by Dr. Dennis Ryan, professor of mathematics, and several former McKendree students.

Eggers says she strives to instill in her teacher candidates “a passion for, understanding of, and commitment to teaching math effectively.” Her goal is for them to become leaders in transforming ineffective math teaching by applying research findings, acknowledging the value of technology, and preparing their students for STEM-related course studies and careers in science, technology, engineering and math.

The O’Fallon, Ill., resident is a member of the Rotary Club of O’Fallon Sunrise and co-advisor of the McKendree Bearcat Rotaract Club.


Photo of Martha Eggers

Martha Eggers