Kappa Delta Pi Educational Honor Society Inducts 38 New Members

(LEBANON, Ill., April 29, 2015) - The Chi Mu Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi (KDP) International Honor Society in Education inducted 38 new members on April 27 at the Hettenhausen Center for the Arts at McKendree University.

The society inducts only those individuals who have exhibited the ideals of scholarship, integrity of service, and commitment to excellence in teaching and allied professions. Founded in 1911 at the University of Illinois, Kappa Delta Pi is the largest honor society in education, representing over 600 chapters and more than 60,000 active members.

“By accepting membership into KDP, we are able to recognize undergraduate and graduate candidates for scholarly achievements and dedication to the education profession,” noted Dr. Timothy Richards, associate professor of education and chapter counselor at McKendree, who served as master of ceremonies. The local chapter was established in 1997 and includes University President James Dennis and Men’s Basketball Coach Harry Statham as charter members.

The Chi Mu chapter officers are: Timothy Klein of Staunton, Ill., president; Autumn Twardowski of Herod, Ill., vice-president; Caty Ponce of Edwardsville, Ill., secretary; Tegan Clinton of Downers Grove, Ill., treasurer; Nick Rahar of Breese, Ill., membership chair; Lindsay Winkeler of Bartelso, Ill., historian; and Andrea Saenz of O’Fallon, Ill., public relations.

Education professors who participated in the ceremony were: School of Education Chair Dr. Allison Fahsl, and Dr. Jennifer Hope, director of teacher education, gave congratulatory speeches. Also participating from the School of Education were Dr. Darryn Diuguid, Dr. Brenda Doll, Dr. George Fero, Dr. Bethany Hill-Anderson, Dr. Karee Orellana and Dr. Janet Wicker.

McKendree University’s Chi Mu Chapter, Kappa Delta Pi new inductees, listed alphabetically and including their hometown, are:

Roxanna Alldredge, Benton, Ill.
Mindy Allen, Coulterville, Ill.
Emily Argo, Belleville, Ill.
Katherine Baker, Mansfield, Ill.
Kendra Barackman, Carlyle, Ill.
Breanna Branson, Lebanon, Ill.
Melissa Calcara, Edwardsville, Ill.
Sadie Delashmit, Bloomington, Ill.
Preston Foehrkalb, O’Fallon, Ill.
Erin Genteman, Moro, Ill.
Cassandra Gillespie, Fairview Heights, Ill.
Alicia Harney, Springfield, Ill.
Erin Hoover, Plainfield, Ill.
Madison Jacobi, Troy, Ill.
Hannah Jamruk, Highland, Ill.
Kevin Kinsall, Lebanon, Ill.
Heather Land, Mascoutah, Ill.
Erica Lynn, Swansea, Ill.
Lynae Mathews, Belleville, Ill.
Cassandra Merlock, Carlyle, Ill.
Brooke Moore, Mt. Vernon, Ill.
Lauren Mudge, Edwardsville, Ill.
Alonzo Nelson, Florissant, Mo.
Alyssa Patterson, Troy, Ill.
Megan Porter, Gifford, Ill.
Sandee Powers, Fairview Heights, Ill.
Elyse Rench, Shiloh, Ill.
Jodi Rowe, Carlinville, Ill.
Austin Schwarm, Farina, Ill.
Allison Sehr, Freeburg, Ill.
Chloe Smith, Mt. Carmel, Ill.
Haley Smith, O’Fallon, Ill.
Catherine Taylor, Edwardsville, Ill.
Marissa Weiss, Pocahontas, Ill.
Diane Wicker, Belleville, Ill.
Katie Wiggin, Belleville, Ill.
Kayla Wombacher, Mascoutah, Ill.
Ashley Young-James, Campbell Hill, Ill.