McKendree Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society Inducts New Members

Lebanon, Ill. - McKendree University Chapter 292 of Phi Kappa Phi installed a total of 70 new members at two recent ceremonies. Students from the Louisville and Radcliff, Ky., campuses were inducted on April 13 at the Paroquet Springs Conference Centre in Shepherdsville, Ky. The eleventh initiation ceremony for students at the Lebanon, Ill., campus was held on April 24 at the Hettenhausen Center for the Arts. The events were part of Academic Excellence Day to recognize outstanding student achievement throughout the university community.

The 2014-15 Phi Kappa Phi officers are Dr. Nichole DeWall, president; Dr. Robb Van Putte, president-elect; Gail Hollis, treasurer; and Marsha Goddard, secretary. Lindsay Hansard, of Belleville, and Kenneth O’Dell, of Carlyle, were installed as student vice presidents of the chapter.

Founded in 1897, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest, and most selective all-discipline honor society. Individual membership is by invitation and requires nomination and chapter approval. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors, having at least 72 semester hours, are eligible. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff, board members and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

Each year, approximately 34,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni are initiated into the society from college and university campuses throughout the U.S., Puerto Rico and the Philippines.

McKendree’s 2014 Phi Kappa Phi inductees at all campuses, listed by their hometown, are:

Juniors: Lindsay Winkeler, Bartelso, Ill.; Lindsay Hansard, Alexis Sauerwein, Belleville, Ill.; Kathryn Berndsen, Lori Kuper, Breese, Ill.; Kenneth O'Dell, Carlyle, Ill.; Brianna Owens, Centralia, Ill.; Mindy Allen, Coulterville, Ill.; Tegan Clinton, Downers Grove, Ill.; Alexis Knecht, Mt. Vernon, Ill.; Zachary Fieber, Nashville, Ill.; Shay Frederick, Douglas Garrett, O'Fallon, Ill.; Andrew Kordelewski, Plainfield, Ill.; Christine Cunningham, Kristin Junge, St. Jacob, Ill.; Jeremiah Robillard, Scott Air Force Base, Ill.; Maleah Grothaus, Shipman, Ill.; Valerie Lukens, Chelsey Stein, Trenton, Ill.; Lauren Putbrese, Xenia, Ill.; Jerome Young, Elizabethtown, Ky.; Wade Zinsmeister, Louisville, Ky.; Michelle Allen, St. Louis, Mo.

Seniors: Philip Chapman, Crestview, Fla.; Caitlin Schlueter, Aviston, Ill.; Ashley Ebersole, Benjamin O'Neill, Laura Shevlin, Belleville, Ill.; Evonne Huelsmann, Breese, Ill.; Nichole Meyer, Carlyle, Ill.; Keli Barrow, Teresa Rueter, Centralia, Ill.; Samantha Frawley, Collinsville, Ill.; Amber Rode, Highland, Ill.; Eric Bailey, Mascoutah, Ill.; Allen Williams, New Baden, Ill.; James Cummins, Ashley Boyles, Danielle Cooper, Jennifer Hamuka, Kayla Wright, O'Fallon, Ill.; Amy Merten, Sandoval, Ill.; Emily Kelly, Shiloh, Ill.; Paige Brocaille, Tamaroa, Ill.; Leah Hiles, Lisa Hinton, Elizabethtown, Ky.; Lauren Ford, Magnolia, Ky.; Lance Shore, Radcliff, Ky.; Michael Lampe, Hillsboro, Mo.; Nykhala Coston, Jefferson City, Mo.

Graduate Students: David Duffin, Alhambra, Ill.; Jacqueline Goebel, Aviston, Ill.; Sara Beer, Bartelso, Ill.; Tricia Poettker, Breese, Ill.; Margaret Pennell, Granite City, Ill.; Jill Heidenreich, Hamburg, Ill.; Michele Heinz, Highland, Ill.; Debra Schachner, New Athens, Ill.; Jordan Curry, Daniel Zimmerman, O'Fallon, Ill.; Nicole Bailey, Shiloh, Ill.; Beth Tourney-Shelton, Palmyra, Ind.; Alisha Cooper, Louisville, Ky.; Richard Dalton, Elizabethtown, Ky.; Brenda Irwin, Ballwin, Mo.

Alumni: Jeremy Holley, Metropolis, Ill.; Karen Berthot, Stacey Cutter, O’Fallon, Ill.; George Obernagel, Waterloo, Ill.

Faculty: Dr. Brenda Doll, O'Fallon, Ill.

Staff: George Kriss, Fairview Heights, Ill.; Shawn Connelly, Troy, Ill.