McKendree University Honors Outstanding Students, Faculty for 2013

Lebanon, Ill. — Outstanding McKendree University students and three faculty members were recognized at an Honors Convocation held on April 19 at the Hettenhausen Center for the Arts on campus.

Honorees were selected by full-time faculty members based on four major components of the university’s mission—responsible citizenship, engagement, academic excellence and lifelong learning, noted Dr. James Dennis, president.

Dr. Martha McDonald, associate professor of nursing, delivered a brief keynote address on “Strengths and Weaknesses.”

Dr. Neil Quisenberry, associate professor of sociology, was announced as the winner of the United Methodist Church (UMC) Board of Higher Education Exemplary Teacher Award for 2013. It is given by the UMC Board of Higher Education for excellence in teaching, concern for students and colleagues, commitment to values-centered education, and service beyond the classroom.

“Neil is widely considered to be an effective instructor, a helpful colleague and a supporter of students,” said Dr. Christine Bahr, provost and dean. “By all accounts, he embodies the criteria that this award represents—excellence in teaching, civility and concern for students and colleagues, commitment to value-centered education, and service to students, the institution and the community.” The Shiloh resident has taught at McKendree since 2003.

Two Associate Faculty Awards for Excellence in Teaching were also given. Tom Pawlow, of Belleville, has taught human resource management and other management courses part-time at the Lebanon campus and at Scott Air Force Base for more than 20 years, having begun while an active duty Air Force officer. He is the associate dean of McKendree’s Center at Scott Air Force Base. Kenneth Meddows, a Belleville resident and McKendree alumnus, has taught management courses at the university and on base for 17 years in the undergraduate and MBA programs. He is a business and planning analyst manager at Boeing.

School and division chairs honored exceptional students for achievement within their respective areas as follows:

College of Arts & Sciences
Division of Computing, Dr. Jim Feher, chairperson
Zachery Turpen, Highland, computer information systems
Matthew Ernst, Peoria, computer science
Steven Hernandez, Fairview Heights, computer information systems, Center at Scott Air Force Base

Division of Humanities, Dr. John Greenfield, chairperson
Jessica Tieman, Lincoln, English
Chelsey Ray, O’Fallon, organizational communication
Joshua Benitone, O’Fallon, religious studies
Jessica Spires, New Lenox, Spanish
Mildred Menke, Waterloo, speech communication

Division of Science and Mathematics, Dr. Alan Alewine, chairperson
John Steppe, Effingham, biology
Daniel LaMaster, O’Fallon, chemistry
Shannon Fuehne, New Baden, mathematics
Jacob Halde, Collinsville, science education

Division of Social Sciences, Dr. Brian Frederking, chairperson
Sarah Jackson, Collinsville, history
Jeffrey Lager, Breese, history education
Nathalia Oliveira, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, international relations
Ian Reynolds, Belleville, political science
Lena Faitz, Trenton, psychology
Brandon Hoeflein, psychology
Mildred Menke, Waterloo, sociology-criminal justice
Kathryn Canale, Belleville, sociology-social work

Division of Visual and Performing Arts, Dr. Nancy Ypma, chairperson
Grace Fisher, Trenton, music-vocal performance
Tyler Campbell, Trenton, theatre

School of Business, Dr. Sandra Lang, chairperson
Adriana and Giuliana Gonzalez Tolentino, North Palm Beach, Fla., The School of Business Outstanding Students of the Year, Sponsored by Northwestern Mutual
Courtney Sidwell, Maryville, business administration
Shannon Fuehne, New Baden, economics and finance
Paulo Goncalves Bittencourt, Betim, Brazil, management
Elizabeth Gentry, Carterville, marketing

Center at Scott Air Force Base, School of Business
Jason Nigro, Highland, accounting
Patti Daniels, Shiloh, business administration
Michael Molzhon, Mascoutah, business administration
Shari Munier, Mascoutah, management

Accelerated Instruction with McKendree (AiM) Program
Christy Siemer, Carterville, business administration
Chelsy Dillenberger, Waterloo, human resource management
Allison Venters, Mt. Vernon, marketing

Master of Business Administration
Emily Eilermann, Breese
Shari Thurnau, Maryville

School of Education, Dr. Janet Wicker, chairperson
Tiffany Schrage, Aviston, elementary education
Amber Sussen, Breese, elementary education

Master of Arts in Education
Adrienne Johnson, Maryville, educational administration and leadership
Jeff Lattimore, Edwardsville, educational administration and leadership
Beth Juehne, Trenton, educational studies
Edward Anglin, Staunton, higher education administrative services
Terri Campbell, Scott Air Force Base, special education
Marsha Schmittling, Mascoutah, teacher leadership
Brooke Woods, Belleville, teaching – elementary education
Beth Clark, O’Fallon, teaching – secondary education

School of Nursing & Health Professions
Division of Health Professions, Dr. Dawn Hankins, chairperson
William Netzhammer, Alton, athletic training
Emily Woodland, Eureka, Mo., health and wellness

Division of Nursing, Dr. Richelle A. Rennegarbe, chairperson
Linda Tolar, Belleville, nursing
Ashley Zimmer, Red Bud, nursing

Master of Science in Nursing
Amy Piontek, Freeburg, nursing education
Jennifer Harre, Marion, nursing management-administration

Honors Program, Dr. Brian K. Frederking, director
Shaina Danet, Belleville; Brandon Hoeflein, New Baden; Daniel LaMaster,O’Fallon; Shawnna Maki, O’Fallon; Courtney Motl, Glen Carbon; Benjamin Pollard, Summerfield; Jessica Tieman, Lincoln

Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges, Dr. Joni Bastian, vice president for student affairs and dean of students
Abigail Baker, Tacoma, Wash.; Jacqueline Bassler, Belleville; Danielle Cooper, O’Fallon; Katy Czerwonka, St. Jacob; Natalie Ernst, Peoria; Cassandra Fremder, Troy; Shannon Fuehne, New Baden; Jacob Halde, Collinsville; Brandon Hoeflein, New Baden; Zane Maus, Waterloo; Mary McKee, Chrisman; Nathalia Oliveira, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil; Alexandria Peach, Wood River; Ryan Ryterski, Nashville; Sarah Schomaker, New Baden; Caitlin Stredde, Elgin; Jennifer Stroot, O’Fallon; Gabor Toth, Cegled, Pest, Hungary

Lincoln Laureate Award, Dr. Christine Bahr, provost and dean
Matthew Ernst, Peoria