McKendree University Recognized as a Phi Kappa Phi Chapter of Merit

Phi Kappa Phi Chapter of Merit logoLebanon, Ill. — The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi—the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines—recently recognized the McKendree University Chapter 292 as a Chapter of Merit. The award is given to chapters that excel in recognizing and promoting academic excellence in all fields of higher education and engaging scholars in service to others.

“Being recognized as a Chapter of Merit reflects our efforts to fulfill McKendree’s mission of responsible citizenship, engagement, academic excellence and lifelong learning,” said Dr. Ann Collins, chapter president. “We are pleased that our thriving Phi Kappa Phi chapter—through its dedicated members—contributes to the betterment of our university, our community and our society.”

The distinction acknowledges the chapter as a thriving organization that meets frequently, holds annual initiations and applies frequently for Phi Kappa Phi’s select scholarships, grants and fellowships. The Society awarded 73 chapters this year, including 54 Chapters of Merit.

McKendree ‘s Phi Kappa Phi Chapter 292 officers for 2012-13 are Dr. Ann Collins, president; Dr. Nichole DeWall, president elect; Marsha Goddard, secretary; Gail Hollis, treasurer; and Dr. Bethany Hill-Anderson, public relations officer. Brandon Hoeflein, of New Baden, and Cassie Boeckman, of O’Fallon, serve as student vice presidents. Seventy-seven new members were installed at the chapter’s ninth installation ceremony in April.

Founded in 1897, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest, and most selective all-discipline honor society. Individual membership is by invitation and requires nomination and chapter approval. Membership is by invitation to only the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students, and 7.5 percent of juniors. Faculty, professional staff, and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify. For more information, visit the website