Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society Inducts 77 New Members at McKendree

Lebanon, Ill. — McKendree University Chapter 292 of Phi Kappa Phi took in 77 new members during its ninth initiation ceremony, on Friday, Apr. 20 in the Russel E. and Fern M. Hettenhausen Center for the Arts. The event was held at the Honors Convocation, which recognizes outstanding student achievement throughout the university community.

The 2012-13 officers are Dr. Ann Collins, president; Dr. Nichole DeWall, president elect; Marsha Goddard, secretary; Gail Hollis, treasurer; and Dr. Bethany Hill-Anderson, public relations officer. Brandon Hoeflein, of New Baden, and Cassie Boeckman, of O’Fallon, were installed as student vice presidents of the chapter.

Founded in 1897, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest, and most selective all-discipline honor society. Individual membership is by invitation and requires nomination and chapter approval. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors, having at least 72 semester hours, are eligible. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff, board members and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

Each year, approximately 34,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni are initiated into the society from college and university campuses throughout the U.S., Puerto Rico and the Philippines.

McKendree’s 2012 Phi Kappa Phi inductees are:

Juniors: Jonathan Becker, Strasburg; Cassandra Boeckman, O'Fallon; Kody Bolk, Carlyle; Megan Caperton, Marine; Samantha Crane, O'Fallon; Natalie Ernst, Peoria; Adriana Gonzalez Tolentino, Lebanon; Giuliana Gonzalez Tolentino, Lebanon; Jessie Gottschall, New Baden; Jacob Halde, Collinsville; Brandon Hoeflein, New Baden; Karee Lewis, Harrisburg; Shawnna Maki, O'Fallon; Casara Marsaglia, Lebanon; Aleesha Moran, Mascoutah, John Parciak, Belleville; Malissia Pendleton, Louisville, Ky. ; Anthony Rhoads, Litchfield; Jonathan Rice, Prospect, Ky.; Sarah Schomaker, New Baden; Danielle, Smith, Smithton; Thomas Taylor, Fort Knox, Ky.; Jessica Tieman, Lincoln; Christopher Uhe, Alhambra.

Seniors: Shannon Beckemeyer-Vance, Carlyle; Charles Black, Radcliff, Ky.; Patti Daniels, Shiloh; Amanda Downard, Belleville; Lena Faitz, Trenton; Martha Feldkamp, Louisville, Ky.; Nathan Gershon, Scott Air Force Base; Jessica Glatz, Belleville; Paulo Goncalves, Lebanon; Ronald Hockenberry, Radcliff, Ky.; Lisa Kampwerth, Germantown; Sarah Kinzinger, New Athens; Kevin Lauterbach, Radcliff, Ky.; Savannah Lugge, Lebanon; Byron Luster, Radcliff, Ky.; Jordan Luttrell, Xenia; Douglas Magneson, Belleville; Rachel Mattingly, West Paducah, Ky.; Michele McCallion-Christner, Simpsonville, Ky.; Amber McClure, Belleville; Stacia Novy, O'Fallon; Judith Parsley, Louisville, Ky.; Patrick Reid, Elizabethtown, Ky.; Margaux Rogers, Mascoutah; Heather Smith, Taylorsville, Ky.; Sylvia Sullivan, Elizabethtown, Ky.; Jenna Summers, Troy; Catherine Webb, Mascoutah; Jason Wellen, New Baden; Mike Willis Jr., Louisville, Ky.

Graduate Students: Dawn Atlee, Johnston City; Roberta Barnett, Benton; Keri Dix, Granite City; Marvin Donaldson, Granite City; Sharon Gardner, Salem; Susan Hasl, Prospect, Ky.; Yvonne Martinich, Swansea; Mitchell McLaurin, Elizabethtown, Ky.; Ophelia McLaurin, Elizabethtown, Ky.; Lenae Milam, Carrier Mills; Sally Niebruegge, O'Fallon; Alicia Oller, Salem; Ryan Palazzolo, Centralia; Jerry Peterson, Vine Grove, Ky.; Jennifer Rogier, Highland; Jeannette Schorfheide, New Baden; Magdalina Valentin-Howard, Radcliff, Ky.; Shawn Wilson, Louisville, Ky.

Alumni: Cassie Jouett, Fairview Heights.

Faculty: Dr. Brian Frederking, Okawville; Dr. Peter Will, Lebanon.

Staff: Peter Palermo, Lebanon; Kim Smallheer, O'Fallon.