Kappa Delta Pi Education Honor Society Inducts 23 New Members

Photo of Kappa Delta Pi Inductees

Lebanon, Ill. — The Chi Mu Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi (KDP) International Honor Society in Education inducted 23 new members on Apr. 9 at McKendree University’s Hettenhausen Center for the Arts. The society inducts those who have exhibited the ideals of scholarship, integrity of service, and commitment to excellence in teaching and allied professions. Founded in 1911 at the University of Illinois, Kappa Delta Pi is the largest honor society in education, representing 572 chapters and more than 45,000 active members.

Chapter Counselor and Associate Professor of Education Dr. Timothy Richards noted, “By accepting membership into KDP, we are able to recognize undergraduate and graduate teacher candidates for scholarly achievements and dedication to the education profession.”

The local chapter was founded in 1997 and includes University President Dr. James Dennis, Assistant Professor Martha Eggers and Coach Harry Statham as charter members.

Chi Mu Chapter officers who assisted in this year’s induction were Michelle Voegele of Mascoutah, president; Timothy Day of Edwardsville, vice-president; Casey White of Buncombe, secretary; Lindsay McGuire of Benton, treasurer; Heather Yancy of Aviston, membership chair; Katherine Schnefke of Granite City, historian; and Craig Bruton of Mascoutah, public relations chair.

Education professors who participated in this year’s annual event were: School of Education Chair Dr. Janet Wicker, Director of Teacher Education Dr. Brenda Doll, Martha Eggers, Dr. George Fero and Dr. Jennifer Prusaczyk. Dr. Christine Bahr, provost and dean, and Dr. Wicker also gave congratulatory speeches to the new members.

McKendree University’s new Kappa Delta Pi inductees are: Currin R. Armstrong and Allison M. Schenck, of Mascoutah; Sara A. Beer, Trenton; Christina M. Benhoff, Cena N. Mahmood and Melissa G. Stefano, Belleville; David M. Bergschneider, Pleasant Plains; Samantha S. Crane, Ian P B. Hendricks and Jennifer M. Stroot, O'Fallon; Katy M. Czerwonka, Kelly A. Lenzini and Casara J. Marsaglia, Lebanon; Jennifer M. Gann, Troy; Jacob M. Halde, Collinsville; Zachary R. Holder, Olney; Monica A. Metzger, Swansea; Kimberly D. Potter, Columbia; Kimberly A. Randolph, Fairview Heights; Sarah M. Schomaker and Jason M. Wellen, New Baden; Tracey M. Simpson, Evansville; and Emily R. Williams, Mt. Carmel.