SuDoc - Government Documents Classification

Ordinary library classification systems such as Dewey Decimal or the Library of Congress  are not used for government documents.  Instead, government documents are classified using their own system which was created by the Office of the Superintendent of Documents at the United States Government Printing Office (the GPO).  This system is called SuDoc for short.  SuDoc classifies documents with a letter prefix primarily based on the agency or part of the government which issued or created the document.  It calls these the "class stems."  The documents within each agency are then further subdivided based on the nature of the document itself.  You can find more information at the Federal Depository Library Program's SuDoc web page.  The table below was copied from that page.

SuDoc can be confusing, especially for first-time users.  If you are having difficulty, please feel free to call the library or use the chat widget found on most library pages in order to get assistance.

Current Lettering for SuDoc Class Stems

As of November 2010, the current lettering used for SuDoc class stems are:

A - Agriculture

AE - National Archives and Records Administration

B - Broadcasting Board of Governors

C - Commerce Department

CC - Federal Communications Commission

CR - Civil Rights Commission

D - Defense Department

E - Energy Department

ED - Education Department

EP - Environmental protection Agency

FA - Fine Arts Commission

FCA - Farm Credit Administration

FHF - Federal Housing Financing Board

FM - Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service

FMC - Federal Maritime Commission

FR - Federal Reserve System Board of Governors

FT - Federal Trade Commission

FTZ - Foreign-Trade Zones Board

GA - Government Accountability Office

GP - Government Printing Office

GS - General Services Administration

HE - Health and Human Services Department

HH - Housing and Urban Development Department

HS - Homeland Security

I - Interior Department

IC - Interstate Commerce Commission

ID - US Agency for International Development

ITC - International Trade Commission

J - Justice Department

JU - Judiciary

L - Labor Department

LC - Library of Congress

LR - National Labor Relations Board

MS - Merit Systems Protection Board

NAS - National Aeronautics and Space Administration

NC - National Capital Planning Commission

NCU - National Credit Union Administration

NF - National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities

NMB - National Mediation Board

NS - National Science Foundation

OP - Overseas Private Investment Corporation

P - United States Postal Service

PE - Peace Corps

PM - Personnel Management Office

PR - President of the United States

PREX - Executive Office of the President

PRVP - Vice President of the United States

RR - Railroad Retirement Board

S - State Department

SBA - Small Business Administration

SE - Securities and Exchange Commission

SI - Smithsonian Institution

SSA - Social Security Administration

T - Treasury Department

TD - Transportation Department

TDA - US Trade and Development Agency

VA - Veterans Affairs Department

X and Y - Congress